Coeliac disease

I’ve spent the past month going through the stages of grief in regards to coeliac disease. Yes, I was diagnosed with coeliac disease. Coeliac disease being that lovely little autoimmune disease that means you can’t eat gluten – which is found in wheat, rye, & barley.

On the one hand I’m happy to finally know what is wrong. Why I’ve felt horrible. Why I haven’t felt like doing anything for months and months. I’m glad there is an answer – often with medical stuff there isn’t a simple or easy answer. And, to top it off, my anxiety is nearly gone.

But at the same time .. what do you mean I can’t have bread? What do you mean gluten is in soy sauce? I need to read every label of anything I eat?

I’m trying to think of this as an adventure. A breadless adventure, sure, but who needs bread when you have energy?

Leave a Reply

